no fuss, no cook breakfast

Ah, the old rolled oats in a jar recipe. It seems like no blog is complete without such a recipe. I happen to LOVE rolled oats in a jar and think they’re the perfect summer breakfast if you have arthritis or are a busy person with limited time in the morning.

As I mentioned a couple of posts back, I had a bit of a flare which primarily affected my hands and wrists. This recipe was perfect to prepare the night before so when I got up in the morning, all I had to do was top the oats with some honey and berries.

As most of you with inflammatory arthritis know, you wake up feeling awful and feel better as the day goes on so it’s important to spend time in the evening preparing your breakfast.

I go so far as to get my plates, cutlery and cups ready on the counter and prepare my coffee pot so when I get up in the morning all I have to do is turn on the stove for my coffee and get my oats out of the fridge. No rummaging through draws and cupboards.

I love the look of oats in jars however for someone with painful hands and wrists, even a small glass jar is too heavy to pick up in the morning let alone get the lid off. Use plastic glasses (like above) that are light and cling wrap to cover.


Ingredients

Rolled oats (I use about 4 heaped tablespoons for a small serve)

100 mls of light soy milk (add more if needed)

1 teaspoon of chia seeds (optional)

honey

berries (or any topping you prefer)

Place oats, chia seeds and soy milk in a jar or plastic glass (mix ingredients)

Cover with a lid or plastic wrap and place in the fridge overnight

In the morning, pour some maple syrup, honey or agave over the oats

Top with berries or fruit of your choice


img_3785-1

Delicious oats topped with blueberries and honey and oats with chia seeds topped with with strawberries and honey

Enjoy your oats with your favourite beverage. Freshly brewed coffee is my favourite.

I bought the plastic glasses at Daiso, a Japanese variety store. Look for similar items in the outdoor/picnic section of your favourite store

For more no cook breakfasts,  bon appetit magazine has some delicious recipes to look through

I like the sound of the kefir, oats, nuts and maple breakfast jar

If you are thinking of preparing the grapefruit recipe, please check with your doctor about eating grapefruit. Grapefruit may interact with the medications you are taking

You can read more about grapefruit and medications on the Arthritis Australia website

For more drug and food interactions, have a look at the page of the Arthritis Foundation

For more oats in a jar variations, theyummylife  takes you through recipes step by step with pictures

If you have a favourite no cook breakfast, I would love to hear what it is

Leave a Reply

